Kramer Award of Excellence


The Kramer Award of Excellence recognizes a junior dental student who has demonstrated scholarship, character, and the potential promise for advancement of dentistry and service to humanity as shown by Dr. William Kramer's dedication to his profession and the principles and ideals of Omicron Kappa Upsilon.

Kramer Award Winners


Stephanie Colon

2023 Awardee: Stephanie Colon 



Adnan Baker-Agha

2022 Awardee: Adnan Baker-Agha


Justin Maxell poses with his 2021 Kramer Award

2021 Awardee: Justin Maxwell


Daniel Maher poses with his Kramer Award

2020 Awardee: Daniel Maher


Katherine Bell poses with her Kramer Award

2019 Awardee: Katherine Bell


About Dr. Kramer

  • Dr. Kramer's career was primarily in dental education at the University of Nebraska.
  • Dr. Kramer was an outstanding higher education faculty who excel in the three facets of a faculty member's job: teaching, research, and service.
  • Dr. Kramer served the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry on the Board of Directors and as President. He published multiple research articles and lectured extensively in the United States, Canada, Mexico, and Europe.
  • Dr. Kramer also served Omicron Kappa Upsilon for over 25 years – 17 of which were as an officer.  Dr. Kramer served as president of the Supreme Chapter from 1969-70 and as secretary-treasurer from 1971-1986, the longest term of office since the founding of this society in 1914.


Omicron Kappa Upsilon LogoTo be eligible, the awardee must be ranked academically among the top five students in the class at the completion of the second year of the curriculum.

The award was established in 1986 to commemorate the many years of service to Omicron Kappa Upsilon at the national level by Dr. William S. Kramer.