Open Menu
Fauchard Academy Elects Dental School for Hall of Fame

The Pierre Fauchard Academy Board of Trustees voted overwhelmingly to move the United States Dental Hall of Fame exhibit to the University of Maryland Dental School, Baltimore College of Dental Surgery. Board member Lynne Halik, DDS and President Elect Joseph C. Harris, DDS made the formal announcement at an ADA, dental school alumni reception, on October 9, 2010.

The international headquarters for the Hall of Fame is currently located at the French Federation of Dentistry in Paris, France. The Academy is named after the "Father of Modern Dentistry", Pierre Fauchard of France (1678-1761).

The Pierre Fauchard Academy is an International Honorary Dental Society founded in 1936 by Dr. Elmer S. Best, a dentist from Minnesota. The Hall of Fame was established in 1992 by President Foster W. Bens. The exhibit honors outstanding leaders in the profession of dentistry throughout the world. Drs. Horace Henry Hayden and Chapin A. Harris, co-founders of the University of Maryland, Baltimore College of Dental Surgery are notable inductees in the Hall of Fame. A special ceremony will take place in June to commemorate the installation of the exhibit at the dental school.

More Information